Summer Cup 2009

Summer Cup winners – Sandy Bells 1

Summer Plate winners – Bank of Scotland

Sandy Bells 1 are the 2009 Summer Cup winners beating Corstorphine 2 in the final. This was their first success since the club did the double of Summer Cup and Plate final in 2005. Sandy Bells and Corstorphine were the only clubs to enter more than one team in the competition. They were rewarded for their interest and organization with some success.

In the Plate final Bank of Scotland narrowly beat Balerno. After losing two finals in recent years this must have been especially pleasing for them.

There were 14 entries this year - the lowest total for a few years. Hopefully we will be back to our regular entry in 2010.

Report by League Secretary Iain Hope