Edinburgh Chess Congress Results

George Heriot's School

April 2-4, 2010

Report by Jim Wallace


Entries rose from the 2008 and 2009 levels though not to the very high figures reached in 2007. The breakdown was: Premier 42 (36), Challengers 39 (40), Major 35 (37), Bishops 48 (48) and Knights 57 (46). A total of 221.
There was a junior tournament run this year in the Castle Hall but unfortunately it was not well attended. Perhaps this was the reason for the extremely high level of juniors in the Knights section, reflected in the increase from last year. For this reason, there was an extra prize given in the Knights section for the highest placed junior under 16.


Peter Woods of Chess Suppliers ran the bookstall and the quality of the bookstall, including software, was excellent. The playing kit was of a high standard with a large amount of digital clocks available. Peter also donated a book for the best placed junior in the Premier tournament.


All 5 Arbiters performed to their usual high standard, thanks to Alex MacFarlane, Lara Barnes, Andy Howie, Donald Wilson and Gavin Saxton.

Thanks also to the members of the Council and other volunteers who helped to set the hall up on Friday 02 April 2010. Dick Heathwood for taking the entries, preparing the leader boards, pairing cards, as well as processing the grading results. Thanks go to Terry Purkins and Eddie Gillespie for assisting with the prize-giving, Also thanks to David Stewart for unceasing background help and support.

Prizewinners list:


1st = Colin A McNab (GM, Dundee & Victoria) 4/5  
(£190 each) Andrew Greet (IM, Bearsden) "  
  David Findlay (Dundee & Victoria) "  
  George Neave (Edinburgh West) "  
1st Grading Prize: (£50) Callum MacQueen (Giffnock) 3½/5  
2nd Grading Prize: (£10 each) Sai Kong Tsang (Cathcart) 2½/5  
  Ian Marks Cumbernauld) "  
  Jonathan Scott (James Gillespie) "  
  David Fowler (England) "  
  Shivan Murdochy (Edinburgh) "  
Edinburgh Evening News Cup: Andrew McClement (Oban) on tie break, £30 + a book donated by Chess Suppliers.

Challengers Event

1st = Ian Mason (Grangemouth) 4/5  
(£75 each) Christopher McIntee (Balerno) "  
  David Begg (Pentland Hills) "  
Grading Prize = Andrew Masters (Edinburgh) 3.5/5  
(£10 each) Ian Campbell (Giffnock) "  
  Mark Sanderson (Edinburgh) "  

Major Event

1st (£110) John S.R. Smith (Edinburgh) 4½/5  
2nd (£70) Mike Scott (Edinburgh) 4/5  
Grading Prize: (£70) Ben He (Tiger Cubs) 3½/5  

Bishops Event

1st= Dominic O’Rourke (Bellshill) 4.5/5  
(£110 each) Michael Grove (Dundee resident) "  
Grading Prize (£30) Colin Horne (Sandy Bells) 4/5  

Knights Event

1st (£150) David Watson (Corstorphine) 5/5  
2nd = Vasif Ramazonov (Aberdeen) 4½/5  
(£35 each) Robert Mills (Badgers Brook) "  
Grading Prize Derek Birkett (Inverness) 3½/5  
(£10 each) Callum Birkett (Inverness) "  
  Callum McGillivray (Edinburgh) "  
Extra junior prize in Knights (£30) Sam Gregory (Edinburgh) 4/5  

Prize Draw

The winning move was Bf8+
Paul Blair (Glasgow Montrose)

Giant Killing Prize

Sarah Birkett (Inverness) – graded 811 points below her opponent (£30)

Best Game Prize

IM Andrew Greet (Bearsden) defeated Andrew Green in round 4 - £30 - Best game as judged by Geoff Chandler.