Edinburgh Chess Congress Results

George Heriot's School

April 3-5, 2009

Report by Jim Wallace

Entries continue to fall from the level of 2007, a very successful year as far as the numbers went. Unfortunately, this was not to be repeated in 2009. Numbers dropped from 217 players in 2008 down to 205 in 2009, lowest level for a number of years. Premier 36(43), Challengers 40(45), Major 37(42), Bishops 48(36) and Knights 44(46).

Unfortunately, there was no Chess Scotland Scottish Schools Individual Championships this year

Jim Fisher of Chess and Bridge Ltd ran the bookstall and the quality of the bookstall, including software was excellent.

All 5 Arbiters performed to their usual high Standard, thanks to Alex MacFarlane, Lara Barnes, Andy Howie, Michael Roth and Gavin Saxton.

Thanks also to the members of the Council and other volunteers who helped to set the hall up on Friday 03 April 2009. Dick Heathwood for taking the entries, preparing the leader boards, pairing cards, as well as processing the grading results. Lara Barnes for assisting with the prize giving. Also thanks to David Stewart for unceasing background help and support.

Prizewinners list:

(Click event headers for grading data on the Chess Scotland site)


1st = Vlad-Victor Barnaure (IM, Edinburgh resident) 4/5  
  Keti Arakhamia-Grant (GM, Edinburgh West) "  
  Colin A McNab (GM, Dundee & Victoria) "  
  Charles H Storey (England) "  
1st Grading Prize = Graeme Kafka (Edinburgh) 3/5  
  George Neave (Edinburgh) "  
  Calum MacQueen (Giffnock) "  
  Edwin A Spencer (Dundee & Victoria) "  
2nd Grading Prize: Ali Roy (Carrick) 3/5  
  Julius Schwartz (Inverness) "  
Edinburgh Evening News Cup: Julius Schwartz (wins cup on count back), also receives a book donated by Chess and Bridge bookstall.

Challengers Event

1st Jonathan Scott (James Gillespie) 4.5/5  
2nd = Eoin S Campbell (Wandering Dragons) 4/5  
  Ade Egbaiyelo (Wandering Dragons) "  
  Daniel Maxwell (Aberdeen Chess Academy) "  
Grading Prize = Ade Egbaiyelo      
  Daniel Maxwell      

Major Event

1st = Edward Keogh (England) 4/5  
  Walter J Pearson (Pentland Hills) "  
  Thomas Grundy (Bank of Scotland) "  
  Chris James (Edinburgh) "  
Grading Prize Steve Murdoch (England) 3.5/5  

Bishops Event

1st= William G C Platts (Wandering Dragons) 4.5/5  
  David Cubitt (Wandering Dragons) "  
Grading Prize = Angus G Ruthven (Corstorphine/Galashiels) 3.5/5  
Jamie Malkin (Kilmarnock) "  

Knights Event

1st Derek Lafferty (Bellshill) 5/5  
2nd = David King (Musselburgh) 4/5  
  David Watson (Corstorphine) "  
  Roland Fraser (Paisley) "  
Grading Prize Escher Mills (Sciennes P5) 3/5  
  Max Allison (James Gillespie) "  
  Kai Pannwitz (Inverness) "  

Prize Draw

The winning move was Rxf8
David Stewart (Bank of Scotland)

Giant Killing Prize

Kai Pannwitz grade 507 defeated a player 672 points above him.

Best Game Prize

Andrew Burnett for his game against Stephen Hogg in the Premier - Best game as judged by Geoff Chandler of Chandler Cornered at

Blunder or Swindle Prize

Geoff Chandler was also going to give a prize for best swindle/cheapo/blunder but since none of the selected entrants attended the prize giving he chose to give the prize to Julius Schwartz instead for his good last round game against Colin Mcnab. .