Edinburgh Chess Congress Results

George Heriot's School

March 28-30, 2008

Report by Jim Wallace

2007 was a very successful year as far as the numbers went. Unfortunately, this was not to be repeated in 2008. Numbers dropped from 262 players down to 212, a reduction to more in line with the 2006 level. Premier 43, Challengers 45, Major 42, Bishops 36 and Knights 46.

More than 70 young players competed in the Chess Scotland 2008 Scottish Schools Individual Championships. The event was sponsored by the Association of Certified Public Accountants. David Shenton is the new Scottish under 18 champion.

Jim Fisher of Chess and Bridge Ltd ran the bookstall and the quality of the bookstall, including software was excellent.

A last minute hitch meant 6 arbiters rather than the usual 5 but all were their usual professional standard, Thanks to Alex MacFarlane, Lara Barnes, Donald Wilson, Andy Howie, Trevor Davis and Rod Tweedie.

Thanks also to the members of the Council and other volunteers who helped to set the hall up on Friday 28 March 2008. George Anderson for taking the entries, preparing the leader boards, pairing cards, table numbers as well as processing the grading results. Eddie Gillespie and Terry Purkins for helping with the prize giving. Jeremy Hughes and his team on behalf of Chess Scotland for organizing the Scottish Schools Individual Championships.

Prizewinners list:

(Click event headers for grading data on the Chess Scotland site)


1st Colin Mcnab (Dundee & Victoria) 5/5 £500
2nd = David Findlay (Dundee & Victoria) 4/5 £65 each
  Keti Arakhamia-Grant (Edinburgh West) "  
  Richard Birkett (Inverness) "  
  David Eggleston (England) "  
Grading Prize U2050 = Andrew Green (Edinburgh) 3.5/5 £25 each
  Thomas Weiss (Lasswade) "  
GP U1854 = Sai Kong Tsang (Cathcart) 2.5/5 £15 each
  Graham Williamson (Sandy Bells) "  
  Lloyd Hill (England) "  
  Manibar Periasamy Manjula (England) "  
U18 Andrew Green (Edinburgh) 3.5/5 £30
Evening News Cup and book prize donated by Chess and Bridge Ltd

Challengers Event

1st= Nicholas Barnaby (England) 4.5/5 £110 each
  Ian Mason (Grangemouth) "  
Grading Prize Antonio Moneva-Jordan (England) 4/5 £30

Major Event

1st David Stewart (Bank of Scotland) 4.5/5 £150 each
2nd= Gerrard Oswald (Sandy Bells) 4/5 £45 each
  John SR Smith (Edinburgh) "  
  Damien Bullen (Wandering Dragons) "  
Grading Prize = Stuart Blyth (Glenrothes) 3/5 £6 each
  Walter Pearson (Pentland Hills) "  
  Arthur Mullholland (Hamilton) "  
  Callum Vipond (Tiger Cubs) "  
  James Mooney (Cathcart) "  

Bishops Event

1st= Alan Armstrong (Kelso) 4/5 £45 each
  Alistair Small (Musselburgh) "  
  Timothy Allen (England) "  
  Kenneth Aiston (Broxburn) "  
Alex Stewart (Bon Accord) "  
Grading Prize = William Harkins (Benarty) 3/5 £8 each
Bryan O’Rourke (Glenrothes) "  
Duncan Hall (Aberdeen Teachers) "  
Michael Gilroy (Edinburgh Civil Service) "  

Knights Event

1st Derek Raffan (Grangemouth) 5/5 £150
2nd Norman Grant (Bon Accord) 4/5 £15 each
  Scott Browning (Musselburgh) "  
  Roland Fraser (Paisley) "  
  Angus Ruthven (Corstorphine) "  
  David Watson (Corstorphine) "  
Grading Prize Ken Main (Bank of Scotland) 3.5/5 £30

Prize Draw £30

The winning move was Bxa4
Walter Pearson (Pentland Hills)

Giant Killing Prize £30

Alexander Armstrong (Kelso) grade 886 defeated a player 413 points above him.

Blunder or Swindle Prize £10

In the Bishops event, James Turner (Bank of Scotland) resigned in a winning position against Anthony Akers (Lasswade). The players agreed to share the £10 prize donated and judged by Geoff Chandler.

Best Game Prize £30

David Eggleston (England) for his win against Keti Arakhamia-Grant (Edinburgh West) on board 1 in round 3.
Judged by Geoff Chandler of Chandler Cornered at