Summer Cup 2006

Summer Cup winners – Corstorphine Castle 2

Summer Plate winners – Corstorphine Castle 1

12 teams entered this year’s Summer Cup. This entry was considerably down on previous years of 16, 18 and 21 entries (more recent years first). Frequent Summer Cup winners in the past, Tiger Cubs, did not enter.

A preliminary round of 4 matches was necessary to bring the number of teams down to 8.

Last year’s Summer Cup winners, Sandy Bells 1, were knocked out in the preliminary round by Wandering Dragons.

Last year’s Summer Plate winners, Sandy Bells 2, were knocked out in the preliminary round, by Corstorphine Castle 2, who went on to beat Edinburgh West in the Summer Cup final. CC2 lost over the board but won on handicap.

The Summer Plate final was between Lasswade and Corstorphine Castle 1. CC1 won over the board and with a total handicap against them.

Congratulations are therefore due to Corstorphine Castle who have won both trophies this year. This follows three other clubs who have also performed this feat.

Report by League Secretary Gordon Davies