Summer Cup 2005

Summer Cup winners – Sandy Bells 1

Summer Plate winners – Sandy Bells 2

16 teams entered, which was down on previous years of 18, 21 and 19 entries respectively (more recent years first).
Dragons 1 defaulted their first match so did not go through to the Summer Plate for first round losers.
Last year’s Summer Cup winners, Tiger Cubs, were knocked out in this year’s semi-final, by Sandy Bells 1. Sandy Bells 1 went on to win the final against Lasswade narrowly by 4.5 – 4 with the advantage of the handicap system (3 –3 before handicaps).

Last year’s Summer Plate holders, Pentland Hills, could not repeat this feat as they won their first round match in the Cup, so could not enter the Summer Plate. However they were knocked out by Lasswade in the semi-final of the Cup.

Sandy Bells 2 won the Plate final against Civil Service 5.5 – 3.5 with the advantage of the handicap system. Without handicaps they lost 2.5 – 3.5.

Therefore Sandy Bells club won both the Summer Cup and Plate and are to be congratulated.

However they are not the first club to do so. Musselburgh CC have done it twice before and Wandering Dragons once.

Report by League Secretary Gordon Davies