Edinburgh Chess Congress Results

1 to 3 April 2005

report by Hugh Flockhart
Click event headers for grading data on the Chess Scotland site

The popular Edinburgh Congress returned to the heart of the city for its usual Spring slot. While entries were surprisingly down for the first time in many years, the Championship was extremely hard-fought and resulted in a 4-way tie for first place between GM Colin McNab, IM Stephen Mannion, Andrew Burnett, and Keith Ruxton.

Prizewinners list:


1st = GM Colin McNab (Dundee Victoria) 4/5 £190
IM Stephen Mannion (Cathcart) " £190
Andrew Burnett (Glenrothes) " £190
Keith Ruxton (Sandy Bells) " £190
GP U2100 = Christopher MacDonald (Hamilton) 3/5 £20
Ivan Stokes (Bearsden) " £20
Alan Tate (Wandering Dragons) " £20
GP U1900 = Eoin Campbell (Wandering Dragons) 2.5/5 £25
Andrew McMasters (Edinburgh University) " £25
U18 Steven Tweedie (Hamilton) 3/5 £30

Evening News Cup and book prize donated by Chess Suppliers

Challengers Event

1st= Ian Mason (Grangemouth) 4.5/5 £110
Douglas Will (Grangemouth) " £110
GP Robbie Coleman (Cathcart) 4/5 £30

Major Event

1st= Ian MacGregor (Bearsden) 4.5/5 £110
John Smith (Edinburgh) " £110
GP Simon Bate (Civil Service) 4/5 £30

Bishops Event

1st Jonathan Weir (No Club) 4.5/5 £150
2nd= John Banks (Cambuslang) 4/5 £20
David Bond (Balerno) " £20
Adam Bremner (Bon Accord) " £20
Olav Smith (Lasswade) " £20
Matthew Smith-Mearns (Robert Gordon) " £20

Knights Event

1st= William McIntosh (Hamilton) 4.5/5 £110
Stephen McKee (Edinburgh West) " £110
GP Liam Ingram (Glenrothes) 4/5 £30

Prize Draw

The winning move was Qxb7 £30 Keith Ruxton (Sandy Bells)

Giant Killing Prize £30

In the Knights Event, Ali Roy (Carrick) with a grade of 515 defeated David Watson (Corstorphine) 1188 a grading difference of 673 points.

Swindlers Prize £10

Won by Adam Bremner (Bon Accord).
Donated and judged by Geoff Chandler of Chandler Cornered

Best Game Prize £30

Andrew Burnett (Glenrothes) for his win as white over Christopher MacDonald (Hamilton) in Round 1 of the Premier Event.
Judged by Geoff Chandler of Chandler Cornered