Chess Edinburgh lewischessmen2-75h 

Chandler Cornered

Junior World Blind Championship 2009.

Junior World Blind and Visually Impaired Championship 2009.

Held at Täby, Stockholm, Sweden

This was won By Daniel Pulvett from Venezuela with a score of 6pts from 7 rounds.
Here is Daniel with his trophy.

And here are the controllers. I've just got to get myself
one of then snaz amigo waist coats. I just gotta have one.

As always we are only here for the smashes. Here is Danny's shortest win.
It was starting to look grim for Black with a beast landing on d6 but Black
should have castled and fought on from there.7...b6?? was a baddie.

[Click here to replay the game]
D.Pulvett- J.Gamiz Campana

1.e4 c5 2.Nc3 Nc6 3.f4 g6 4.Nf3 Bg7 5.Bb5 e6 6.e5 Nge7 7.Ne4 b6 8.Nd6+ Kf8 9.Ng5 Qc7 10.Ngxf7 Rg8 11.Ng5 Nf5 12.Nxh7+ Ke7 13.Nxf5+ gxf5 14.Qh5 Bf8 15.Nf6

And here is the shortest game of the tournament.

But first a thought.
I wonder if it is possible to play Chess with a new rule.
No piece is allowed to move onto an unprotected square.
For example White has just played 1.Re8 which he can because e8 is protected.
This would be checkmate as Black cannot take as his Rook would be undefended.

Of course such a rule would be stupid.
But just think of all the combinations and traps that could never get played
if such a rule existed. Here we see yet another trap based on a piece,
this time the Queen, landing on an undefended square.

Before you play a combination, nick a pawn or even move, try to see if anything
ends up on an unprotected square. Unprotected pieces are the root of all misery.

[Click here to replay the game]
P.Bulgakov - K.Adam

1. e4 d5 2. exd5 Nf6 3. d4 Nxd5 4. c4 Nb6 5.Nc3 e6 6. Bd3 Be7 7. Nf3 c5 8. d5 exd5 9. cxd5 Nxd5 10. Nxd5 Qxd5 11. Bb5+

Daniel's only loss came from a King's Indian.
In this position he played 9...f6 which is a move I think is only
correct if the centre was locked. 9...Qe8 tickles the e-pawn and
has aggresive intentions.

But there again we are on move 9 so it may be theory.
(don't care if it is, f6 is wrong here - theory be damned).

Black pressed on the Kingside before the centre was resolved
and after he threw up all pawns White opened the centre and
he always looked better after that.

[Click here to replay the game]
U.Yuvarlak - D.Pulvett

1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 g6 3. Nc3 Bg7 4. e4 d6 5.Nf3 O-O 6. Be2 e5 7. Be3 Na6 8. a3 Ng4 9. Bg5 f6 10. Bh4 h5 11. h3 Nh6 12. O-O g5 13. Bg3 f5 14. exf5 Nxf5 15. dxe5 g4 16. hxg4 hxg4 17. Nh2 Nxg3 18. Qd5+ Kh8 19. fxg3 Rxf1+ 20. Rxf1 Bxe5 21. Qf7 Nc5 22. Qh5+ Kg8 23. Qg6+

The win now is simple. 23....Bg7 24. Rf7.

Going into the last round Danny needed a win as Black to take first place.
This position arose. White to play and plan.

White was sucked to the d4 pawn and started moving against it with 19.Be4.
But there was no rush. 19.Rae1 development first and then play chess.

The d4 pawn falls but Black used the time to put White in an awkward position.
Black slipped in a cute in-between-move. 26...Re2+ which White had possibly missed.
The Black f-pawn suddenly crashes through to f2 and White is lost. Good game.

[Click here to replay the game]
P.Berggren - D.Pulvett

1. c4 e5 2. g3 Nc6 3. Bg2 g6 4. e4 Bg7 5.Nc3 d6 6. Nge2 Be6 7. Nd5 Qd7 8. O-O Nd8 9. b3 c6 10. Ne3 c5 11. Bb2 Nc6 12. f4 Nge7 13. Qc2 Nd4 14. Nxd4 cxd4 15. Nd5 Bxd5 16. exd5 O-O 17. fxe5 Bxe5 18. Qd3 Qg4 19. Be4 Rae8 20. Kg2 f5 21. Bf3 Qg5 22. Bxd4 Bxd4 23. Qxd4 f4 24. Be4 Qg4 25. Qd3 Nf5 26. Bxf5 Re2+ 27. Rf2 Rxf2+ 28. Kxf2 Rxf5 29. Kg2 f3+ 30. Kg1 Qh3 31. Qf1 f2+ 32. Kh1 Qg4 33. Qd3 Re5 34. Rf1 Qh3 35. Qb1 Re2 36. d4 Rb2 37. Qc1 h5 38. Qd1 h4 39. Qd3 Kg7 40. c5 hxg3

I just gotta get me one of those waist coats.

Starts next week The Corner will have pics, games and ringside gossip.
Again, so I believe, you will be able to follow the games on the net.
Here is a list a winners since the competition first started in 1884.

1884J Crum
1885Daniel Yarnton Mills
1886GE Barbier
1887Daniel Yarnton Mills
1888George Henry Mackenzie
1889J Marshall
1890WN Walker
1891JD Chambers
1892Daniel Yarnton Mills
1893WN Walker
1894WC Spens
1895Daniel Yarnton Mills
1896Daniel Yarnton Mills
1897Daniel Yarnton Mills
1898GB Fraser
1899Daniel Yarnton Mills
1900Daniel Yarnton Mills
1901RC Macdonald
1902E Macdonald
1903J Borthwick
1904RC Macdonald
1905RC Macdonald
1906RC Macdonald
1907W Gibson
1908AJ Mackenzie
1909AJ Mackenzie
1910GW Richmond
1911JA McKee
1912W Gibson
1913AJ Mackenzie
1914W Gibson
1915C Wardhaugh
1920P Wenman
1921W Gibson
1922W Gibson
1923W Gibson
1924C Heath
1925G Page
1926JA McKee
1927RC Macdonald
1928RC Macdonald
1929W Gibson
1930W Gibson
1931W Gibson
1932William Fairhurst
1933William Fairhurst
1934William Fairhurst
1935James Macrae Aitken
1936William Fairhurst
1937William Fairhurst
1938William Fairhurst
1939Max Pavey
1946William Fairhurst
1947William Fairhurst
1948William Fairhurst
1949William Fairhurst
1950PB Anderson
1951AA Thomson
1952James Macrae Aitken
1953James Macrae Aitken
1954PB Anderson
1955James Macrae Aitken
1956James Macrae Aitken
1957James Macrae Aitken
1958James Macrae Aitken
1959P Coast
1960James Macrae Aitken
1961James Macrae Aitken
1962William Fairhurst
1963M Fallone
1964AM Davie
1965James Macrae AitkenPM Jamieson
1966AM Davie
1967G Bonner
1968David Levy
1969AM Davie
1970G Bonner
1971E HoltRM McKay
1972G Bonner
1973PM Jamieson
1974RM McKay
1975DNL LevyS Swanson
1976RM McKay
1977CW Pritchett
1978PA Motwani
1979RM McKay
1980Danny Kopec
1981G Morrison
1982RM McKay
1983CA McNab
1984CSM Thomson
1985ML CondieRM McKay
1986Paul Motwani
1987Paul Motwani
1988RM McKay
1989ML Condie
1990SR Mannion
1991Colin McNab
1992Paul Motwani
1993Colin McNabPaul Motwani
1994JF Parker
1995SR MannionColin McNabJK Shaw
1996DM Bryson
1997DM Bryson
1998JK Shaw
1999Jonathan Rowson
2000AJ NorrisJK Shaw
2001Jonathan Rowson
2002Paul Motwani
2003Paul MotwaniKetevan Arakhamia Grant
2004Jonathan Rowson
2005Craig Pritchett
2006Jonathan Grant
2007Andrew Muir
2008Alan Tate

Back to Chandler Cornered

Creative web design and Search Engine Optimisation by Spiderwriting Web Design